Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Swine time

    April 15 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Well, I've cracked the shits. Which, when you're travelling is sort of a double whammy as not only are you bummed, you feel like an ungrateful swine.

    It all came on very suddenly, and I suspect it's like when you watch drops of rain on a window - occasionally, two or three will band together, and, picking up momentum, race down the pane, gobbling up others as they go.

    My raindrops are probably:

    - weariness from back pain (it grinds you down, and it started 254km ago)
    - self consciousness from tan lines (I feel like a stupid pink fleshy tourist)
    - homesickness (people, vegetables, being understood).

    Soon, this mega-drop will splatter on the windowsill and dissipate. To help that along, I'd quite like to have a cry. Unfortunately, my tears follow a tropical schedule - over the year we have extended dry periods, followed by a build up, and then the wet season. We are potentially in the build up? It's too early to say.

    Instead I have come back to the very nice hostel, rented a proper towel, had a long shower with a newly purchased exfoliating glove and scrubbed myself raw, made tea and toast, and told myself I can put off updating here and dinner plans and everything for a bit and just sit. I don't even have to go out tonight if I don't feel like it.

    I'm very alright, and tomorrow I'll go back to being absolutely in love with it all again.
    Read more