Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Puente Villarente to Leon

    April 15 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    I've got to get out of sync with these blokes. Why are we getting readyyy in the roommm? If you must have an alarm it should be on vibrate under your pillow, CERTAINLY not an Elvis song on speaker with your phone in your shoe? Ampfying it? I nearly beat him to death.

    The French really lean into it, I've met two and they've both been wearing berets. The one today was a fellow cat-enthusiast - coming into a village he stopped to fuss over one so I kept going and hit the jackpot with three. He crested the hill and on seeing them, genuinely exclaimed OOH LA LA! OOH LA LA! which I very much agreed with to be honest.

    It's only 12km to Leon today which should have had me there by like 10am on normal schedule but I slept in, messaged people for a while, and finally schlepped off at 8.30.

    City outskirts towns are always ghastly because they are car shrines - all the petrol stations and dealerships and mechanics that keep that AWFUL MACHINERY going have to live somewhere.

    This stretch was no different, redeemed only by the fact that my coffee came with a simmich tapas and was the cheapest yet! I booked a nice hostel for tonight online last night, it's only the second I'll have stayed at that is not limited to just pilgrims. Splashed out an extra euro to upgrade from an 18-bed mixed room to a 12-bed female room, I'm keen as.
    Read more