Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Another drab monastery

    April 23 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 9 °C

    You could stick to the road and get to Sarria in under 20km, or you could take a rural 7km detour via a monastery, which I think was also the hillier option.

    I suspect all the long-termers (in my generous view, anyone that started before Burgos) took the detour because we're all dragging our feet on finishing, and the newbies that just started in O'Cebriero did a mixture depending on their bravery and fitness this early in their respective games.

    It was of course lovely. It was of course closed. Churches being open seems a lot like a Navarro and Rioja thing, I gotta say. It's inhabited by Benedectine monks and nuns, and good on them. There's a fucking petrol station on the side of it, I'd note. Is nothing sacred?
    Read more