Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Arms Dealer, PTSD Marine, & Oz Escapees

    June 23, 2018 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 84 °F

    Yesterday's ride to Pai was amazing. Crazy curvy roads that would make Powder Keg's Kentucky Twisties seem like a cruise up I-75. One of the British passengers yelled at the driver to slow down--he didn't, of course--and the Chinese kid (6 years old?) threw up twice. Because I waited for everyone else to get in the van, I had the coveted passenger seat. It was awesome, well, for me anyway. I'll take part of the road later today on the 125cc twist-&-go to visit a hot springs. I'm really looking forward to it, although on a 125, I may have to push it up the really steep hills (8.5% incline).

    After checking into the hotel, I walked down the street in search of a beer. The first place I found was an Australian pub with the World Cup on the tele. Sold. I chatted a while with the Aussies who escaped Australia for the lure of cheap living (and some other things as well). As the evening progressed, I spent several rounds talking with a former Marine with serious PTSD who lives here to smoke pot and train in Thai fighting. He said Pai saved his life. I also met a French Canadian arms dealer who was on his way to Hanoi. In addition to the "normal" small arms, grenades, etc., he has the matched pair of Lara Croft guns for sale, 1200 US. Crazy Frenchman.

    I've had a nice day so far, seeing one of the many waterfalls (pic with cops) and one of the many temples. I've just finished a nice Thai vegan lunch for a whopping 45 baht ($1.50). It's cloudy and occasionally dripping a little rain, but with the temperature at 75°F, the weather is great! I was worried about not having air conditioning in my room, but a cold shower and the fan going was fine.

    Out for now. ✌️
    Read more