Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Gibbon Experience, Day 1

    June 30, 2018 in Laos ⋅ ☁️ 81 °F

    We're stuck here in the mud waiting for the guys to dig out the truck. It's an adventure already, and we haven't even really entered the jungle yet.

    I saw my first water buffalo during the drive up, but was unable to catch a photo. I'm very excited about this adventure, but I hope we don't have to walk too far in the mud.

    Out for now. ✌️

    P.S.: We walked for miles. Tomorrow will be three times as long. I am the oldest by almost twice the others' age and am the slowest. But I made it to the treehouse. We watched a lovely sunset, drank "happy water" mixed with hot green tea, and played several different cards games with our two guides.

    The only wildlife we've spotted so far were a green bird, a couple of bats on the fly, fireflies, lots of bugs, a massive furry spider that we now live with, and billions upon billions of mosquitoes, bees, hornets, flies, etc. I'm truly looking forward to waking up to the Gibbons' singing around 6 am. ✌️
    Read more