Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Halong Bay Trip Cancelled for Weather

    July 17, 2018 in Vietnam ⋅ 🌧 84 °F

    Well, poop. My day trip to Halong Bay has been cancelled because of a storm rolling in. The harbormaster has closed the bay to all tourist boats. The tour bus picked me up at my hotel at 0730. We almost made it there when the guide found out about the closure, so at 1115 we turned around. We should get back around 1500. Wasted day, but they said they will refund the cost. Oh well.

    I took advantage of the bus's wifi to buy my overnight train ticket to and book accommodation in Hue, located around the middle of the country, leaving tomorrow. Should be great.

    Pics:
    - My flip-flop blew out a few days ago, and I finally bought a new pair in the same style to keep my tan lines going.
    - Traffic in Hanoi is amazing, with very few stoplights. Everyone has the right-of-way and simply dodges each other. If you're a pro, you'll never put your feet down.
    - Giant bonzai or something. Incredible.

    Out for now. ✌️
    Read more