Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Another crappy van

    July 25, 2018 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 90 °F

    I'm in another crappy van on my way to Hoi An. Yesterday after lunch and a nap, I hung out at the beach with one of the girls from the night before until around 9 pm. Awesome.

    As I learned over the past 24 hours, the place I stayed at the past three nights in Da Nang turned out to be little more than a scam. More than 12 hours after I returned the rented motorbike AND after they rented it to someone else, they tried to claim I crashed it. The left front fender and indicator were broken. Since another place tried to do the same, I now video them before and after I return them, so they can suck it. They charged me both times I used the kitchen. What hostel anywhere charges to use the kitchen? I made her show me the sign, which was in very small print stuck in the far corner. I took five foam pads from the common area (used for sitting on the floor) and laid them on my bed to sleep on because the mattress was so old that the springs were wearing through the fabric. The first morning I woke up, I could barely move. Although you pay for air con, you're not allowed to run it from 0800-1700. And to.top it off, the entire place was riddled with mosquitoe and no netting available. I wrote them a scathing review on Agoda. Not even worth the $4 a night.

    Anyway, enough venting. I'm treating myself for the next three nights in Hoi An at a real hotel with full-time air con, a restaurant, a pool, and even a mini bar in the room. If there's room service, I may not go outside at all. Wish me luck.

    Out for now. ✌️
    Read more