Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 66

    No McDonald's

    August 8, 2018 in Cambodia ⋅ 🌧 84 °F

    I am so tired of a choice of rice, noodles, or cold sandwich for every meal. I couldn't find any McDonald's on Google Maps, so I had lunch at Burger King. To get to it, though, I had to walk past Domino's, Dairy Queen, Krispy Kreme, KFC, Cold Stone Creamery, and Carl's Jr with a drive thru. But no McDonald's. 😂😂😂

    Food is muuuuuuch more expensive than I estimated. Thankfully, Angkor Beer is still only about $1.50, but what food I've had has been about five times what it was in Vietnam. Today's breakfast and lunch cost me the same as four nights in the hostel. I may have to stick to just beer while I'm here. 😉 I'm hoping places outside the city will be cheaper.

    Now, I am trying to determine what to do. I'd really like to walk the city, but the 87°F that feels like 100° is pretty sapping. I think I'll probably go back to the hostel and hang out at the pool with my most recent book.

    Out for now. ✌️

    P.S.: The official currency here is the Riel (aka Khmer KHR), but in reality, Cambodia uses US dollars. Because they only use the bills, you get the cents back in Riel. Or you can pay the cents in Riel. I hit an ATM thinking I could get Riel. They only dispense USD...in 100-dollar bills. I'm keeping the USD I get here separate from what I brought from the US in case the bills I get here are fake.
    Read more