Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 80

    One more day

    August 22, 2018 in Cambodia ⋅ ⛅ 84 °F

    I didn't sleep well, but I feel a bit better today and I believe the cough is sounding better. I'm still sticking to the hostel today. I may walk a few buildings down the street for a burrito this evening, but that will be the extent of my wanderings. Tomorrow, though, I'm back in the saddle with a motorbike around the area, mountains at my west and beaches at my southeast. I'm looking forward to getting it again.

    Now that I have the room to myself, I'm cranking down the air con and taking a nap. 😀

    Out for now. ✌️

    P.S.: I'm posting this about 4 pm because I forgot to tell you. When I went downstairs yesterday, I found out that one of the local expats committed suicide the previous night.

    A 27-year-old Finnish man hung himself at home. Two of his friends found him soon after (after an odd phone call or text, I think). Suicide is terrible for everyone; we all know this. However, it is particularly personal for survivors here.

    According to the hostel owners, it costs about $4000 US to have authorities remove a corpse from a premises. That is over THREE TIMES the average ANNUAL national income.

    Thus, when this young man's friends found him and they determined him dead (no official declaration needed for that here), it was up to them to move his remains to the local Pagoda. I don't know what happens after that, but I hear that he had a sister who has been notified.

    Death is a very intimate and intrusive companion to people who make Cambodia their home. Their loss is almost palpable in the bar/restaurant downstairs. My heart aches for them.
    Read more