Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 137

    East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia

    October 18, 2018 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 90 °F

    I am currently on the Indonesian island of East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia, having arrived at about 9 this morning in an ATR79-600, a prop job. My seat was on the Cut Here line. A little nerve racking. In military prop aircraft, there are dotted lines painted inside where, if they come off the engine while rotating, the props will slice through the fuselage. No person is allowed to stay other than to walk by and there I was, sitting right on the line. Yikes.

    But why did I come here, you ask? It contains the closest airport to 🦎🦎🦎 Komodo National Park, indigenous home of the prehistoric Komodo Dragon, which is where I am going tomorrow!

    Right now, I'm at my hostel, but I can't check in until 2 pm, so I've been forced to sit by the pool with a beer and a book. Terrible. 😉

    Yesterday evening I spent on Kuta Beach for sunset then went to the Hard Rock Cafe for dinner. They've been here for 25 years and have some magnificent guitars and other memorabilia. Nothing from Sting, Collins, or Henley, but still great.

    I'm all set for my dragon excursion and absolutely cannot be more excited. Yet another wildlife adventure learned about in my youth come to fruition.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more