Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 139

    On the boat

    October 20, 2018 in Indonesia ⋅ ☀️ 88 °F

    After seeing the dragons on Rinki Island, we went to Komodo Island and saw more, along with the adults' primary food sources: water buffalo, wild boar, and deer. Then we visited Pink Beach, also on Komodo Island. There were two piglets foraging on the beach. They would wait until our backs were turned, then scamper down, grab something, and hightail it back into the bush. So funny and cute. After the beach, we made our way to a quiet cove for a yummy dinner on the deck and a lulling sleep on the roof.

    This morning, the boat engines started up at an ungodly hour of darkness so we would arrive at Padar Island in time to climb to the top for sunrise. The tour guide woke me up at 0445, and I had already missed breakfast. I got about halfway up, took a picture, and went back to the boat to sleep some more. Wake me up that early when the sun is NOT coming up.

    After that, we snorkled at Manta Point, a spot known for its Manta Rays. Unfortunately, we didn't see any, but it was still nice. I hope my pictures turn out; I can't wear my glasses with goggles.

    Now, we're almost at our last stop, another swimming/snorkeling area by another very small island. The water, reef, and fish are pretty, but no where as gorgeous as at locations around Okinawa, so I'm going to pass on this one and go back to the roof to sleep some more.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more