Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 141

    Lazy Day on Lombok

    October 22, 2018 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 86 °F

    Another lazy day for me. I'm on the island of Lombok, Indonesia, in a very quiet, secluded village in a thatched roof bungalow. I arrived without issue yesterday and had dinner across the street last night accompanied by some chickens and several dogs wandering through the place. It's nice, but too remote for me to stay here longer than I am (3 nights, sort of).

    Today is looking more and more like a YouTube day. Now that I've taken out my earphones, I can here the noon call to prayer. Muslim appears to be, by far, the predominant religion on this island and the last. The women wear hijabs but not burqas; the men are dressed like whatever and without facial hair. Different.

    There are some waterfalls within walking distance. I should go see at least one tomorrow.

    Oh, the earthquake that hit the island a couple of weeks ago was on the north shore and didn't do anything here but crack a couple of walls.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more