Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 143

    ON ON to Lima, Peru!

    October 24, 2018 in Indonesia ⋅ ☀️ 86 °F

    Yesterday afternoon, three of us--the German girl, a local guy, and me--from the bungalows went to the waterfall. The local guy showed us a lot of plants along the way, such as vanilla vines, cocao tres, wild pineapples (they're red!), the difference between sticky white rice and normal white rice, a honeysuckle-type vine with large, red, sweet blooms, and several that I've seen at the markets or have eaten but have no idea what they're called. It was a pretty neat walk there and a really cool fall and stream. It wasn't huge, but it's a fall from a large stream that drops into a gully where the bedrock has split. Nice way to spend a couple of hours in Lombok. Great way to finish up my time in Indonesia.

    Now, I'm at the Bali airport on my way to Lima, Peru... eventually. I left the hotel at 3 am for my 6 o'clock flight from Lombok. In about an hour I board a flight to Kuala Lumpur, where I'll wait several hours before boarding an overnight flight to Sydney. I'll stay with a friend until the next morning, when I'll board another flight that makes a quick stop in Auckland, New Zealand, before landing in Santiago, Chile. Then I have one more flight to get me to Lima. Whew. I'm tired from just typing it out.

    I wonder where I'll be for the next two noon posts.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more