Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 184

    Strahan (pronounced Strawn)

    December 4, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 54 °F

    Well, I neither found lunch or free WiFi yesterday nor did I go to the whiskey tasting. Instead, I fell asleep in the warm car. When I woke up a couple of hours later, I found that the local restaurants, mainly at hotels, didn't open until 17:30 at the earliest. So, I finished one book and started another until about 17:15. When I got out of the car, I remembered that Australia's longest running play was about to start in the outdoor theater on the side of the Visitor Center. "The Ship That Never Was" has been running continuously for 24 years and it was a blast! A two-man historical comedy running a full audience participation affair. So funny! Afterwards I went to the pub that closed at 21:00. Apparently they all close at 9. Oh well. Back to the car to read.

    Now I'm on the river cruise I mentioned in yesterday's post. The weather is crap. Again. We toured Sarah Island, a harsh convict island (called Hell on Earth) that viciously worked men (slaves) to gather Huon Pine (pronounced Hewn) for shipbuilding, then began building ships themselves (the play is about this, an escape from the island, and a legal dance around the gallows). Having seen the play first helped make it more interesting. I think the rest of the day will be a wash.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more