Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 186

    Hastings Caves and Thermal Springs

    December 6, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 77 °F

    Picking up from yesterday's post, after Donagys Hill, I visited The Wall, an artist's rendering of Tazzy life carved in wood. His best pieces are those of clothing, like trench coats, overalls, and gloves. They look so real, like you could pick them up and wear them. It was hard not to touch them. Oh, the entry road is where I came across the echidna in the video. So cute!

    Then, it was on to Mt. Fields National Park with Russell Falls (pic) and Horseshoe Falls, both excellent. I finally saw my first black cockatoos, the yellow-tailed variety! After four nights in the car and despite my best efforts with baby wipes, I was a little ripe, so I used the Park's campground showers to clean up. They even had hot water! It's the little things in life 😉.

    There was still plenty of daylight, so I began driving to Hastings Caves and Thermal Springs in the pretty deep south, but only made it to Huonville before stopping for night. I'm just finishing up the cave tour and heading to the hot springs and swimming pool for a little while. This was a nice stop so far. And the weather turned out great despite a very foggy and misty morning! Now that I'm at lower altitude, it's beginning to feel like summer. Finally!

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more