Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 190

    Bruny Island and a Butthole

    December 10, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 61 °F

    Today started out with wonderfully warm weather and beautiful blue skies. I boarded a bus for Bruny Island at about 8 am. We took the ferry across and boarded 43-seat rubber-sided boat for a three-hour tour (three-hour tour 🎶) of the east coast.

    We saw two types of seals, a bachelor pod of Australian fur seals and a family group of long-nosed or New Zealand seals!!!!. We also saw two types of kormorants, black-faced and great, as well as an Australasian gannet. And super bonus, we came across a pod of Pacific common dolphins! Beautiful!!

    I met an amazing couple of humans, too. Jude and Kylie, whom I hope to call friends.

    Since my phone was in my bag safely secured from what turned out to be non-existent wet in the overhead area beneath the small boat roof/canopy, this selfie is from the time of this post during lunch, a late lunch, gladly deferred by the amazing sights of the fauna and Flora, including Jurassic dolomite, we had earlier.

    A passenger took a picture of me at noon, but the photo is on my camera and in front of--what I realized after the pics--a butthole. Really. There just isn't any other thing to call it. I had this beautiful Tazzy beach and rocks and cliffs in the background, then the guy was like, "Turn around," and I did.

    When he was done taking pictures with the unseen background, I turned around and, holy crap ha ha, butthole. Two bulbously round islands (that would make Kim Kardashian cringe) with a cave in the middle. Oh well, I guess everyone has to have their face associated an ass at some point. At least mine's not with a Kardashian. Or a Trump. [I shudder that I can't go even one day without that moron's name being said outloud.]

    And with that....

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more