Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 206

    Ocean Kayaking

    December 26, 2018 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    This morning's sunrise was slightly hidden by the clouds, but they soon blew through. The rest of the morning has been magnificent. Clear blue skies, shiny hot sunshine, and cool green waters.

    I took the 0730 ferry across to Hahei, picked up a shuttle to Hahei Beach, and kayaked through Te Whanganui-A-Hei Marine Reserve and Cathedral Cove. Beautiful.

    We've just finished and I'm waiting for my ride back to Whitianga. Not sure what the rest of the day holds, but I'm pretty sure there's a nap involved. I hope everyone who celebrates it either had or is having a wonderful Christmas Day. All my love to my family and friends, especially my Dad, Mom, Brother, and Sister-in-law; my Harley brothers and sisters; my Hasher knuckleheads; and my Air Force brethren.

    Sadly, I found out today that my Mom's dearest friend passed away on the 21st. L., you will always be one of the kindest people I have ever had the privilege of knowing. I am so very thankful my Mom had you in her life and, by extension, that I've had you in mine. Travel well.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more