Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 247

    Blenheim

    February 5, 2019 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 79 °F

    After kicking Soak out of the campervan (I stopped first 😉), I decided to back track some of the roads north. I took the Lewis Pass back over the Southern Alps, then turned off the previous road to stop off at Nelson Lakes National Park. What a beautiful, secluded place. With kiwis, too!

    After a quick.stop, I continued north to Blenheim where I parked the van overnight in the Visitors Center across from a 24-hour Mobil petrol station.

    I was wide awake at 03:30 with a horribly painful earache. I thought it was just my earbuds or sinus congestion from a little coughing over the past few days, but nope. I drove to an Urgent Care center and waited for them to open at 8. I have an ear infection outside but affecting my eardrum.

    Now, I'm sitting in the campervan outside the store where I filled my prescription for ear drops and purchased over-the-counter head/chest decongestant, but I'm really worried about flying to Fiji on Friday. [First World problems, right?😁] Don't worry, Mom! I'm sure it'll be fine by then.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more