Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 251

    Barefoot Kuata

    February 9, 2019 in Fiji ⋅ ⛅ 86 °F

    Yesterday, I arrived to the Smuggler's Cove hostel in Nadi (pronounced NAN-dee) without issue. I immediately met an American, a Brit, and a couple of Aussies. We spent the afternoon/evening just sitting on the deck bs-ing about everything and nothing. It was terrific.

    But after being up since 02:00 Kiwi time (an hour ahead of Fiji), I was exhausted and crashed around 21:00. The two-bunkbed room was stifling despite the air conditioning, but I managed to get some sleep anyway. I was up again at 05:45 to pack for my boat trip to the first of my three-island hopping adventure. Fiji is made up of 333 islands, so I'm only scratching the surface.

    I arrived at Kuata Island around 10:45 after having chatted the whole trip with two Americans, a Brit, a German, and an Aussie. I'm staying in lucky tent #7, which is right on the beach. Wow!

    Now, I'm at the bar waiting for lunch service at 12:30. This is so awesome!!!

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more