Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 279

    Snowy Waters Lodge

    March 9, 2019 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 63 °F

    As predicted, the continuous rain yesterday kept me inside finishing a book and starting another.

    I was up at 02:57--what is going on?--so I laid in bed until just before my alarm went off at 05:00. We had to leave at 6, and I still had to pack.

    We arrived in the tiny town of National Park around 7 to drop off the other 40 passengers who were doing the Tongariro Crossing today. Over 19 kilometers hiking across the mountain path and considered one of the best hikes in New Zealand. I passed on it because I promised Helen that we would do it together when we're back in 2021. Plus, I don't really have the proper clothing. Yeah. That's it. No proper clothing. 😉

    There were two of us who didn't go the hike, so we and the driver are at the hotel. We can't check in yet, so I'm hanging out reading and have just come in from the deck where I've been sitting in the gorgeous, sunny, but cool weather. Great day.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more