Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 304

    Pub Crawl & Just About to Bungy!

    April 3, 2019 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 52 °F

    We arrived in Queenstown yesterday without incident. I bought some cold weather socks and a new pair of hiking pants that actually fit me. Then I did laundry. Clean clothes are so nice.

    The bar at the hostel, Loco, arranged a pub crawl for 15 of us. What an awesome night, and the Hash House Harriers prepared me well! First we got a meal then shots for making strikes or spares in Wii bowling, which I didn't get. I got everything else, though!!

    Our second place was at the Up Bar, where we did karaoke. I kicked it off with Heartache Tonight by Eagles. We were joined by a couple of Americans, one of whom had a plastic trombone. He and I did Oh Darlin' by The Beatles. Too fun! The four of us who did songs each won $25 NZD bar tab at Loco.

    Our third stop was to the Minus 5° Ice Bar (23°F). I won another $50 NZD bar tab for not wearing a coat the entire time (about 30 minutes) and a free ice shot for being the first one to get down to their skivvies (I had on a sports bra and shorts).

    Our final stop before going back to Loco was to The London, a pizza and beer joint. We had a 4-on-4 boat race (down a pint if beer as fast as you can). My team won bragging rights!

    Once we got back to Loco, I activated my $75 bar tab and bought drinks for everyone. Sweet as! Great night, and I was still in bed before midnight!

    This morning I checked in for my trip to Nevis Bungy & Swing, the creators of bungy jumping. Right now, we're in the basket on our way make the highest bungy jump in NZ at 134 meters/439 feet!!! Eek!!

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more