Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 342

    Daintree Rainforest Day 2

    May 11, 2019 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 81 °F

    What a beautiful place is the Daintree. "Where the rainforest meets the reef" is its slogan. So true!

    I took a long walk yesterday afternoon on the Dubuji Boardwalk, winding up on Myall Beach (don't get close to the water!). I saw loads of orange-footed scrubfowl (no picture). They're about the size of the guineas my grandfather had, but brown with a greenish iridescent breast and bright orange legs and feet.

    After the walk, I stopped by the local store for an ice cream and ran into their pet peacock Eugene guarding the entry. He finally let me in.

    As I was walking back to the lodge, the bats began to come out. They're almost as big as the ones in Okinawa. What a racket they make!

    Walking back to the cabin after dinner, I almost stepped on several cane toads. I'm hoping they were what was making all the rustling noise in the undergrowth. I walked back pretty quickly and didn't stop to investigate.

    This morning, I had breakfast and checked out, then I took another walk. I popped out on Cape Tribulation Beach where the high tide comes right up to the trees. Luckily, the tide was out leaving a huge swathe of flat sand that appeared croc free. I definitely didn't get close enough to the water to find out.

    I also walked around the boardwalk again in one last attempt to see a cassowary. I found scat, but no bird. Poop. (Pun intended 😉.)

    Now, I'm walking to the lodge's cafe for lunch before the van picks me up to go back to Port Douglas.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️

    (I forgot to take a selfie.)
    Read more