Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 354

    Bye Bye, Favorite Shirt

    May 23, 2019 in Australia ⋅ 🌧 75 °F

    After yesterday's rafting adventure, I was wiped. I made dinner, read a little, and passed out. During the night I had a battle with a roommate over the air con temperature. Everytime I woke up sweating, I would turn it down. Every time she woke up freezing, I suppose, she turned it up. Four times I can remember. Grrrr.

    Today, I've made it to Mission Beach proper. (My hostel is actually in Wongaling Beach about 3.5 km south.) I needed a new singlet (Aussie for a tank top), and there aren't any tourist shops near my place. I also picked up some batteries for my toothbrush and a couple of charging cables. Mission accomplished around 11:00, so I'm now at the Pirate's Bay restaurant with my book and a cold beer. Sweet as.

    I miss my Vietnam shirt already; it's in the nearby rubbish bin crying out for me to come get it. No. Shut up. You're literally coming apart at the seams and have holes in you just from being worn and washed. It lasted since August, waaaay longer than I expected, and accompanied me in 10 countries. Sad day.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more