Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Hari 420

    Montazuma's (not revenge)

    28 Julai 2019, Australia ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    After I got back from the Everglades tour, I went straight back to the hostel, grabbed a bottle of wine, and walked to the nearby ferry dock. A Hasher friend of mine, Weak As, is the skipper of one of the boats, and he invited me on the sunset cruise. His wife jumped on board soon after, and we had a great couple of hours. I hadn't seen her since August 2018 and him since this May, so it was great catching up.

    They dropped me back at the dock,then I grabbed some food and went to bed.

    This morning all I had to do was gather my stuff and check out. Once done, I walked to Target and found a travel hair dryer (dual voltage, folding handle), but I forgot to get an Aussie plug adapter. Grrr. I should just cut it off again.

    Then I found a Mexican restaurant called Montazuma's, where I'm having a Dos Equis cerveza and a couple of tacos, one fish (yummy) and one frijoles, almonds, and raisins mix (edible but weird).

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️

    P.S.: When you first arrive in deployed locations like Iraq and Afghanistan, it is very common to get a case of what the military jokingly and painfully refers to as Montazuma's Revenge, a violent diarrhea that makes you lose a couple of kilograms (five pounds) over 24 hours. It can be so dehabilitating that the Air Force laboratories at Wright Patterson Air Force Base are studying the differences in servicemembers' digestive tract bacteria before they deploy compared to after they come home. I am one of the few fortunate people whose stomach doesn't seem to have an issue with this, so I participated in the study. (Don't ask how. Yuck.) I hope they soon find a way to overcome it.
    Baca lagi