Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 425

    Downtown Brizzy

    August 2, 2019 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 68 °F

    After I arrived in Brizzy, my friend Marais (a.k.a. Tickler) met me at the hostel where Stray dropped me off. We took the train back to her house, where we both kicked back on the sofa, had a small dinner, and went to bed early.

    She was up and going early to get to the gym and work. I left the house around 08:30 to take the train back into town.

    Jumping off at Roma Street Station, I walked to Lake Precinct - Roma Street Parklands. The park was.stunning even though it's off-season. Water dragons, Ibis, golden orb spiders, ducks, mynas, honey bees...the park was absolutely alive. I had a lovely stroll through the grounds, including a path called Fern Gully that led to a rainforest section. With a lake and multiple water features, I was surprised at the myriad of flora and fauna that it hid in the middle of this large city.

    Nearby, I found a pedicure place (finally!). After that, I took a long stroll straight down the city, passing City Hall and a very long pedestrian shopping area, then entering the Botanical Gardens on the east side of downtown. Not anywhere as stunning as the park, what was unusual for me was seeing the ibis nesting in the palms. Just make sure to dodge the large pools of droppings as you walked underneath them!

    I popped out of the Gardens at the Old Government House, then walked back towards Central Station (train) past the heritage buildings and a lovely park dedicated to Queen Victoria.

    Now, I'm on my way back to the hostel to wait for Tickler to meet me when she gets out of work at lunchtime.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more