Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 463

    All Good Things Must Come to an End

    September 9, 2019 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 72 °F

    The zoo was great, but as expected, many of the animals were napping in the shade. The dolphin show was cool.

    Unfortunately, today is my last day outside of the United States. I left the US on 10 June 2018 and when I return today 9 September 2019, I will have visited 4 continents (2 new ones for me), spent time in 17 countries (14 new ones for me), hashed in 15 countries (14 new ones for me), and literally flown around the globe.

    A friend asked me what was my favorite part of this trip. Seeing old friends and making new ones was definitely the best. However, what brought tears of joy to my heart was touching rescued elephants in a Thai sanctuary, hearing the piercing calls of gibbon apes from a treehouse in the jungles of Laos, feeling the surge of water from dolphins encircling me at arms length in New Zealand, smelling a glacier in Chile, and seeing prehistoric Komodo dragons in Indonesia. That just scratches the surface of how incredible our world is and the life it fosters. I am so very fortunate to have had the opportunity to participate in just a tiny fraction of it during this trip.

    Thank you to all the beautiful Hashers who opened their homes to me along the way, particularly but not in any particular order Soak&Romney, Xerox&Lexy&Leon, Meat&Easy, Tongue Lasher, Red Light District, Gypsey&Rewd, Automatic Balls&Time For Bed, Tickler, Sniffer Dog, Black Dog&Green Finger, Both Ends&Madam Sin, Jubes (the awesome campervan), and (almost) Mongo.

    HERE'S TO YOU AND ALL OF MY FRIENDS, OLD AND NEW!! CHEERS!!

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more