Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Down the River

    January 5, 2021 in Costa Rica ⋅ ⛅ 82 °F

    After my late lunch yesterday, I took my leftovers back to my room and spent the rest of the night sleeping and drinking water. I woke up at 0300 thinking it was morning and ready to go 🤣. I felt great, but I was still able to go sleep for another couple of hours.

    The hostel had pretty good wifi, so I watched Apocalypse Now Redux to kill some time this morning. Still an amazing movie!

    Around 1000 I walked down to the river where the boats for Drake Bay debark. While having breakfast, I met an Irishman named James who chatted with me. He has been in country 8 years and in Sierpe 3. His story is not mine to tell, but it was a very moving one about love and loss, depression and salvation.

    As I boarded the boat and we were making our way down river, I decided watching Apocalypse Now was probably not a good idea. I kept expecting arrows or bullets to coming tearing out of the jungle. My brain 🤣.

    Now, I'm having a late lunch just off the beach near my hostel.

    Pura vida!!
    Read more