Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Finally Florida

    March 27, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 75 °F

    I had a wonderful time with my friend in Georgia, but I had to keep moving. I left at 08:30 and cut through the bottom of Georgia to hit I-10 towards Jacksonville. I hit two HDs there, then turned south for St. Augustine. There I hit another HD and took a photo in front of a very important sign...for my trip. Castillo de San Marcos and down the A1A is one of HOG's 10 Rides for 2021, so only 9 to go! 😉🤣 [I've ridden every inch of and seen the majority of the sights on the Florida A1A while I lived in Georgia, so I'm just riding point a to point b right now.]

    Riding through Georgia in the Spring is very special because of the way it feels. And not just because of the slight gagging of parfúm de roadkill either. I don't know if the high humidity contributes to more intense sensations, but regardless of why, it's pretty cool.

    The stomach rumbling past a peanut processing plant. The subtle wafting of giant azaleas ablaze in all their glory. The nose crinkling at a roadside swamp giving up its little delicacies to the wading herons. The runny eyes because of the pollen drifting like sifted flour over a rolled out pie crust. The dusty flavor of freshly harvested pine trees.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 7 mileage: 0 (total 1311.0)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 3 (total 10)
    10 Rides for 2021: 1 (total 1 of 10)
    Read more