Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Secession, Dynamite & Longhorns

    April 13, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 77 °F

    On my way southeast towards Houston, I trusted my TomTom NOT to take me on unpaved roads. It let me down. 😱😭🤣

    The most interesting thing I saw on my way was a big billboard with a picture of an old-timey soldier brandishing a sword while standing next to a cannon with the huge word SECEDE underneath. Well, at least they spelled it correctly.

    Here's another piece of Texas history for you: Texas has the unique ability to split into five separate and equal states. Chew on that for a minute.
    More info: https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/more-150…

    I spent the night in Lufkin intending to call Central Texas HD in Round Rock (north Austin) about repairing my kickstand today. Then I did a facepalm and rerouted the GPS to just take me there. So, this morning I'm riding through Davey Crockett National Forest on part of the Texas Forest Trail route. I'm stopping at the many state historical markers along the route, most about towns. The one pictured had me laughing. "It was dynamited several times"? Texas doesn't seem to do well with boundaries 😅😂🤣.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 24 mileage: 229.7 (total 5167.9)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 1 (total 61)
    Read more