Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Dueling Pianos

    April 24, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 81 °F

    After the aquarium, I had lunch at El Arroyo, the place with the famous sign. The food was good, but not any better than other Mexican fare places.

    I also rode around the Capitol building to get a few quick pics. The main drag, Congress Avenue, was closed off all the way from the river. Not sure why. But it was easy to stop on the bike where cars couldn't.

    After a nap at the hotel, I spent the event on 6th Street, the hub of Austin's music scene and nightlife. Pete's Dueling Pianos just opened last weekend, and although I didn't have a reservation, I was able to get a great table. I had a great time, but had enough when the second set of players started in tunes I didn't even recognize, so I called it a night around 23:00.

    I haven't done anything yet today, which has been nice 😁.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the MUSIC! ✌️

    Day 36 mileage: 54.0 (total still 7438.4)
    Read more