Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    HOG Texas Hill Country Road Rally Day 3

    April 29, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 64 °F

    Twisted Sisters rock!!! Last rally day. Great riding despite the third day in a row of rain. I actually wore my rain gear today 😭, but once I got out of San Antonio, the weather cleared and the Sisters were in pretty good shape.

    Yesterday, we stopped at a couple of historic places, the Landmark Inn being one. It's a B&B now,run by the Texas Historical Commission. Really neat place!

    BTW, the couple I was riding with didn't come with me today because of the weather, but they were going to see the Alamo and some other Texas stuff, so I forgive them 😉. But seriously, Pete & Mary are awesome, and it was a pleasure riding with them the last two days. I hope I have the chance to visit them in Maine some day soon.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 40 mileage: 274.0 (total 8072.0)
    50 Rides, 1 Nation: 1 (total 3)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 1 (total 79)
    MCGTTX Stops: 1 (total 21)

    P.S.: Cheapest 91-93 octane gas today so far at $2.94 a gallon in West San Antonio.

    P.P.S.: I saw a large animal definitely not native to Texas behind a very tall fence, but I only got a picture as it was turning away. After some serious Googling, I believe it was a Scimitar oryx because of its horns and markings. More info: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scimitar_oryx
    Read more