Satélite
Exibir no mapa
  • Dia 68

    Old Spanish Trail Rally Day 7

    26 de maio de 2021, Estados Unidos ⋅ ⛅ 72 °F

    After lunch in Silverton, the four of us continued tearing through the mountains. We lost Ben somewhere because he kept stopping to take pictures, but he caught me as I was making a u-turn. I thought I saw a massive pile of dinosaur poo 💩, but it turned out to be a hot spring 🤣.

    We ended a great day of riding in Durango. My hotel was right by the river. Nice. We had a great BBQ dinner at the dealership, the a couple of the guys and I stuck around to have a few beverages in celebration of one of their birthdays, his 60th! The kicked us out when they closed, but what a great time just sitting around b.s.ing. 🤣 And howling at the full moon 🐺🌕.

    I told the guys that I wanted to add an extra loop to today's ride. It has the New Mexico 50 Rides stop and is called the Enchanted Circle. They agreed...if I led them. I said no problem. There will only be 4 or 5 of us. Well, this morning, everyone showed up, so we have 10 motorcycles following me today 😳.

    Nah. It's actually going very well. Smooth. We had a great run with broad sweeping turns going up and over a mountain range in Carson National Forest. Then we popped out on the flats to the northwest of Taos and stopped at the Rio Grande Bridge. Wow. We even saw big horn sheep.

    Now we're stopped for lunch at a little Mexican food place. We're sitting outside and just as I and a couple of others began eating, a dust devil came through the patio. Literally. We tried to save the food, but when we lifted our heads, everything was covered in dirt and pebbles. I laughed until I cried. Hysterical. I remember someone yelling, "What the hell is happening?!" I'm laughing hard right now thinking about it. The restaurant remade all of our plates. Stop there if you're in the area: Toribios, 1630 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 67 mileage: 186.2 (total 15710.7)
    Leia mais