Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 81

    Still Eastbound

    June 8, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 79 °F

    I beat the storm last night! No rain and no rain gear needed yesterday. But no sooner had I checked into my hotel room in West Memphis, AR, than the skies opened up. This morning, the rain continues, so yucky rain gear today ☹️.

    The I-40 bridge crossing the Mississippi River is closed and will be closed for a very long time. Inspectors found cracks in the load bearing steel beams, so all eastbound traffic is being diverted to the I-55 bridge a few miles south. That's the way I needed to go anyway, but it took 20 minutes to go 2.5 miles this morning. In the rain 😩.

    I hit the Memphis HDs and even dropped down into Mississippi to hit Southern Thunder before heading northeast towards Tennessee.

    Now, I've stopped at Moonshine HD on the south side of Nashville. About 50 miles ago, I outran the weather, so I'm taking off my rain gear now. Yippee😁! I'm also buying a gas tank cap because I dropped mine at my last gas stop and the whole thing fell apart ☹️.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 80 mileage: 432.7 (total 17825.3)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 4 (total 116)
    Read more