Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 94

    Twisties & More Twisties

    June 21, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 81 °F

    Yesterday was a blast! I squiggled my way south from Prestonburg through Pikeville, KY, and into Virginia. I had an amazing time scraping my way north past Hungry Mother State Park and the start of the "Back of the Dragon." Woo hoo!! Great ride!! (More info: https://visittazewellcounty.org/back-of-the-dra…)
    [Note: Scraping is when your foot pegs scrape the ground as you lean into a turn 😁. It usually means you're going at a much higher speed than the yellow street sign recommends 😁.]

    All the twisties are great, but they take a lot more time than the highways, so I got behind schedule and stopped 50 miles short of where I wanted to finish. After squiggling from Wytheville, VA, through Bluefield and Delbarton, WV, I finally stopped in Huntingdon, WV. Ready to make up the mileage, I left the hotel this morning at 06:30.

    I had crossed into Ohio and was making good time on the back roads--a little slower on a few wet roads, but not getting rained on--when I saw the sign for Athens. Oh no! I missed the first Ohio dealership on today's route. Missed it by 30 miles. Well, I wasn't doing a 60-mile loop when I was already 50 miles behind schedule. Baxter's HD will have to wait.

    On through Parkersburg and Charlestown to Hico, WV, where I'm stopped at the New River Gorge HD. They're not open today and aren't going to be open at all after this weekend. Another Harley casualty from the lack of tourism, I assume.

    West Virginia and the Appalachians is absolutely incredible. If you haven't been here, put it high on your list. RVing, camping, ATVing, motorcycling, bicycling, kayaking, hiking...these mountains have it all. I'm having a real thrill on these roads!!

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 93 mileage: 452.8 (total 20884.3)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 8 (total 162)
    Read more