Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 100

    To the East Coast!

    June 27, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 82 °F

    After Flight 93 I headed back to the hotel. Just before I left Pennsylvania to get back into Maryland, I passed a guy driving a Ford pick-up truck. I think we both did a double take. Him for realizing I'm a chick, and me for thinking he was Amish. I mean, come on. Blue buttoned shirt, straw hat, long white scraggly beard...Amish, right? Nope. Mennonite. Apparently they use vehicles, unlike their Amish cousins.

    The Vietnamese ladies at the pedicure place set me straight. Then we talked about my amazing trip to Vietnam in 2018. When I left, the mom walked out with me to take a selfie with me and the bike 🤣. Great place and people: Nails 1st, 926 National Hwy, La Vale, MD 21502, if you're in the area.

    My route didn't take long, only about 130 miles total, and even with stopping for a pedicure, when I got back to the hotel I still had plenty of time to shower, mostly pack, and head into Cumberland for the rally's closing ceremony.

    I met up with a buddy I had met at the Texas Rally. Lumpy has been at all of the rallies with me except Kentucky, but I picked up his rally packet for him. Thank goodness I didn't break the whiskey glass before I could get it to him!

    His wife was with him at this one, as well as several of his HOG Chapter members, and after the very short and almost pointless "ceremony," we walked over to the historic area for dinner at Baltimore Street Grill. After see-you-soon hugs, I scooted back to the hotel to finish packing and get some sleep.

    I left Maryland this morning at 07:00, hitting West Virginia, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Maryland, where I am now. Man, these little states keep you on your toes. I keep losing track of where I am 🤣.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 99 mileage: 140.4 (total 22813.5)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 5 (total 182) + York Factory
    50 Rides, 1 Nation: 1 (total 18)
    Read more