Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 146

    No One Was Looking 🤫

    August 12, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 91 °F

    Like yesterday's post, at 14:00 I had to take a nap, but this time it was on the carpet in the air conditioning at Clinton HD in an office converted into a waiting area with a couple of chairs and free coffee and water. They know how to take care of HOG riders in Clinton!

    I crossed the Mississippi a couple of times between Iowa and Illinois. One time the train trestle running parallel to the highway was turned 90 degrees so a huge barge could pass underneath. Really cool. I also passed signs for the American Gothic House (https://americangothichouse.org/) and President Reagan's birthplace.

    I kept rolling and got to the hotel in Decatur, IL, around 21:00. I didn't quite make Springfield, but it was definitely another very long day. I decided to have a nice lie in this morning and didn't leave until 08:00...which turned out for the best because I just missed a huge storm front that blew right up the highway from Springfield to Decatur. That one would have been bad.

    Despite wet roads and road spray soaking my chaps, I made it to Springfield and beyond without any weather. I hit all the dealerships in the greater St. Louis area and am now at the top of the Arch viewing platform across the river. It's meant for people, but no one is here, so why not? 🤣🤣 Shhh, don't tell 🤫. BTW, this is one of the 10 Rides for 2021 😁. Only 3 to go!

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 145 mileage: 643.9 (total 36711.2)
    10 Rides for 2021: 1 (total 7)
    Read more