Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 158

    Guess what? I'm still heading east

    August 24, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 86 °F

    Yesterday I rode past the Missouri State Capitol in Jefferson City on my way to a dealership. I wanted to get past St Louis last night so I wouldn't hit traffic this morning, so I made it all the way to Vandalia, Illinois. It was a 15.5-hour day on the bike and definitely my longest daily mileage yet.

    I rolled out this morning a little later at 06:30. The sun was already coming up, as was the heat, which caused a bit of fog to rise.out of the dew drenched fields. It was beautiful.

    Also beautiful was a hawk resting on top of the stones positioned in front of the Bloomington IL Harley dealership. He had his eye on a small bird perched on the power lines running down the street just above my head where I took the photo 🤣.

    I got behind on these posts again so I'm typing this a couple of days after the fact. I have forgotten why I had the look on my face but I see that I was in Indianapolis when I took it. The traffic was absolutely horrid and half of the interstates were closed down for construction making it even worse. I guess I'm thinking get me out of here quick.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 157 mileage: 786.9 (total 40769.8)
    Read more