Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 160

    I made it to the east

    August 26, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 88 °F

    Yesterday I made it to a couple of more dealerships, swung into Sackets Harbor for a glimpse of Lake Ontario, then spent the night in Calcium near Fort Drum. I spent about 14 hours on the bike, but because it was mostly back roads through New York, the mileage was a bit shorter than the last few days.

    I was very tired when I got off the bike last night. Yet I couldn't get my brain to turn off, so I didn't get to sleep as quickly as I thought I was going to. In fact, just a little bit after midnight my hotel room phone rang. I answered it and some girl was on the line. I just hung up on her. But it got my brain going again, so I don't think I got to sleep before 01:00. Despite that I was up before my alarm went off at 05:00, so I was rolling at 05:30.

    It was another really pretty sunrise with misty fog. I got to Lake Placid just before 08:00 and went to the Lake Placid Horse Show grounds to pick up my registration package for the Reflections HOG Rally. That only took 5 minutes, so I was back on the bike headed to Vermont for that state's 50 Rides 1 Nation photo at the Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream factory.

    During today's ride, so far, I've seen a coyote on the side of the road, its fur wet with dew, and a large, tawny whitetail doe with huge eyes. I also saw several "Moose Crossing" yellow road signs and one "Bear Crossing" sign, but neither of those animals, which is probably a good thing when you're on a motorcycle.

    After making it another 20 miles east past B&J's to the last Vermont dealership, I decided I did not want to backtrack a hundred miles to Lake Placid. Instead, I am now headed south to pick up New Hampshire's 50 Rides 1 Nation photo plus some dealerships. It's going to be another very long day.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 159 mileage: 568.5 (total 42089.2)
    50 Rides, 1 Nation: 1 (total 35)
    Read more