Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 187

    Why does anyone live in the desert?

    September 22, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 86 °F

    After lunch yesterday, I continued south into San Diego. I had on my vest and chaps, which made me feel like I was wearing to most clothes of anyone there. Everyone was in beach attire, and rightly so. It was a beautiful day to be in the sand and on the water. I hit my HDs, then spotted the Hard Rock Hotel on the way out of town, so I grabbed some pins. Bonus!

    After that I headed west to Yuma, Arizona. It was soooo hot 🥵. Like riding in a hair dryer. It was cooler to keep my helmet face shield closed 😨. Terrible. 102°F when I checked into my hotel at 18:00 😳. No thanks.

    I left this morning at 07:00, around 70°F, riding straight into the sun. But I soon turned north on Hwy 95. A vast expanse of 🏜️. That's it. Apparently there are wild burros, but I didn't get to see any of those. Oh! I did see a coyote and a roadrunner, but the first wasn't chasing the last 😉.

    After I duct taped my chaps back together outside of Yuma Proving Grounds, I passed through Parker, which was stunning. Then I found London Bridge in Lake Havasu City 🇬🇧. Neat.

    I finally made it to Kingman, where I am now taking a break at a Flying J. I turned Willie off to let him cool down a little. Not sure he will though because it is sooo hot outside. Again. I haven't looked at the temperature on purpose, but I'm fairly certain it's over 100°F 🥵. I hope my tape stays on.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 186 mileage: 528.0 (total 50969.2)
    Read more