Satellite
Show on map
  • More Friends

    March 14, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 57 °F

    I absolutely LOVE that I am seeing so many of my friends on this leg of my trip! But first things first.

    I rolled out of Micki's at 08:00 this morning in 38°F, but the roads were dry and the sun was shining. I squiggled to several dealerships, then arrived in Panama City Beach to see Molly. I forgot about going back to Central Time, so she was still at work when I got to town. So I went to the beach by Tussell-Fields Pier

    I had a scoop of creamy, chocolatey, coconutty heaven from Kilwins Ice Cream and Fudge. Ohhh my, it was sooo good. I stood on the boardwalk/sidewalk overlooking the beach getting weird looks because I was still in my leathers, but I didn't care. The sun was warm and the ice cream was cold. It was a great 30 minutes.

    Then I was off to see Molly. We met in Germany and I hadn't seen her since 2015. After a short chat and a couple of hugs, I left to see another friend, two actually; they're married.

    I also met Chris and Lauren in Germany, and Chris and I were in Afghanistan together in 2017. I was surprised to be greeted by Brewster, Lauren's 14-year-old Australian Shepherd, whom I also knew in Germany. It is very possible he remembered me because she said he started acting like a pup while I was there. Aaww 🤗.

    I was also so happy to finally meet their beautiful five-year-old daughter Annabelle and their foster daughter Tamaya. Despite both Chris and Lauren being active duty Air Force, they have opened their home and hearts for foster children. I don't know how they do it, but they do. I am very lucky to have these amazing people call me friend. And, yes, I forgot to take a selfie with them 🤦. Love you both so much!

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 29 mileage: 434.3 (total 7175.5)
    HD Dealerships: 5 (total 141)
    National Parks: 0 (total 20 in 13 states)
    10 Rides for 2022: 0 (total 1 of 10)
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 0 of 50)
    Read more