Satellite
Show on map
  • Is It Spring Yet?

    March 24, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 55 °F

    I left Lubbock this morning with all of my clothes on; it was 25°F 🥶. I got to Amarillo and there was snow on the ground. Is it not Spring already?!

    I hit one patch of ice where a truck or something had dumped water on the road. Luckily, I was going in a straight line and fairly slow, so the weird gliding feeling when both of your tires lose traction with the ground only lasted a couple of seconds. I hate that feeling.

    I ticked off at least one of all of my goals today 😁. The highlight was meeting a German guy from Frankfurt on his two-month Route 66 trip. Wish we'd had time to chat.

    Tonight I'm at another KOA cabin ("kabin" of course 🤣) to the east of Santa Fe. Just before getting here, I filled my tank at $5.20 per gallon 😳. The day warmed up nicely, but it's supposed to drop again tonight, so I'm glad I could get a cabin. Now for a movie and a good sleep.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 39 mileage: 555.3 (total 9451.5)
    HD Dealerships: 1 (total 156)
    National Parks: 2 (total 23 in 14 states)
    10 Rides for 2022: 1 (total 2 of 10)
    MCGTTX Stops: 1 (total 7 of 50)
    Read more