Satellite
Show on map
  • So Long, Arizona

    April 10, 2022 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 57 °F

    After an awesome night rockin' with Lynyrd Skynyrd, I slept in a bit until it got too hot to stay in the tent (around 07:00 🤣). I climbed out, sat in the shade, and goofed around on my phone until 11:00, when I went for food. There was a great band playing, Jaded Jukebox, with a tremendous female singer. Heart, Journey, Evanescence, Pat Benatar, Judas Priest, Ozzy, GNR.... I stayed to listen to them until 12:30 when I decided I was bored. So, I went back to my tent, broke camp, and left Scottsdale at 14:00.

    I rode and rode and rode. No gas anywhere. I thought I found a store when my light came on, but it was closed. The GPS finally picked up on one 25 miles away, and my "remaining" indicator said I had 55 miles left. I started pulling in the clutch on the downhills and drifted into the gas station in Silver City with only a few miles left in the tank, if that many. I knew I had gone a long way, but 196.8 on one tank, one 3.5-gallon tank, is just crazy. I can't cut it that close again.

    With a full tank under me, I'm stopped for the night at a hotel. I had a quick meal at McDonald's--the only food around but I'm thinking I should've just skipped it 🤢--then a hot bath to knock off some of the campground funk, and I am now looking forward to a comfortable rest tonight and lie in tomorrow.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 56 mileage: 297.0 (total 12923.7)
    HD Dealerships: 0 (total 165)
    National Parks: 0 (total 29 in 15 states)
    10 Rides for 2022: 0 (total 4 of 10
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 7 of 50)
    Read more