Satellite
Show on map
  • Very Tiring Day, But We're In Memphis!

    May 12, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 81 °F

    All good things must come to an end. We had a great time in Gulfport, but today was time to roll. After a quick, light breakfast and lengthy check out process, I met Leann at her hotel at 08:30 and we hit the road at 09:00, me on the bike and her and the dog in her car.

    We made our way north to Jackson, Mississippi, then we going through Vicksburg to take I-20 over the River, but there must have been a wreck because my traffic app said there was an 80-minute delay 😱. So, we turned north again and spent most of the day on back roads through the fertile farm fields of the Mississippi Delta, which was great but so very slow.

    We stumbled upon and visited the Rohwer Japanese American Relocation Center (https://rohwer.astate.edu/). It was a lovely and honorable site. Then we went to what we thought was Arkansas Post National Memorial. Turns out, we were at the state park and museum, which was interesting, but doesn't count for my challenge.

    By the time we got to Dumas, Arkansas, around 16:00, I was soaked with sweat and had to take a break. We had a little food at Subway while I enjoyed the air conditioning for about an hour. Leann convinced me to go another 150+ miles all the way to Memphis 🤦, and we split up to head in. I hit two dealerships on the way and got to the hotel at 21:25 🥱🥱🥱. It was a very long 13-hour ride in 90+°F heat and humidity 🥵. But we're settled into the hotel now, and I'm ready to drop.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 62 mileage: 575.3 (total 15619.5)
    HD Dealerships: 2 (total 166)
    National Parks: 0 (total 31 in 16 states)
    10 Rides for 2022: 0 (total 4 of 10)
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 23 of 50)
    Read more