Satellite
Show on map
  • Oregon To Idaho

    June 14, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 61 °F

    Well, I only made it to 02:30 before having to go to the laundry room for warmth. I was able to nap in the rocking chair though. At 07:00 I started packing and breaking down the tent. At 08:00, I was standing at the store door to get coffee 🤣. By 09:00, I had on pretty much all of my clothes and my heated gear, including the insoles, and was rolling south to go east.

    Unlike the days I rode from Medford to Klamath Falls and then to Culver, it wasn't raining and I got to see some stuff. Just north of Bend there is an alpaca farm, and not long after that I spied several Longhorns with calves. Today's ride was mostly through what signs called the Great Plains or the High Plains, which was mostly cattle. I also saw a small herd of mule deer who looked like they wanted to cross the road to get it a small pond. I got past them first. When I got lower in altitude, from 4,500 to about 2,000 feet, the land turned to irrigated crops. There were three common crops, a grain, a wheat, and onions. No doubt on the onions because the smell was so thick I could taste them.

    I got to Meridian (Boise) at 17:30 (Mountain time now) with only a little dampness on my leathers from some light sprinkles and road spray. It's was a good day because my heated gear kept me toasty warm all day and I didn't run out of gas despite having to go 160 miles.

    Unfortunately, I am terribly sad that I lost my red neck gaiter somewhere on the road late today. It was a gift from the Ramstein Military HOG Chapter 2015 Christmas Party we had about a week before I left Germany. I was wearing it inside my helmet to keep my head and ears warmer. The wind must have sucked it out. 😭😭😭

    After I checked in and unloaded the bike, which is when I realized the gaiter was gone, I walked across the street to the grocery store and am now sitting in the room, messing with my GPS, drinking a cold beverage, and feeling like it's only 19:30.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 95 mileage: 359.1 (total 21797.2)
    HD Dealerships: 0 (total 196)
    National Parks: 0 (total 39 in 19 states)
    10 Rides for 2022: 0 (total 5 of 10)
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 23 of 50)
    Read more