Satellite
Show on map
  • Hoka Hey Day 5

    June 30, 2022 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 84 °F

    Rough day with a start of hundreds of miles of twisties on wet, yucky roads. Great roads through, including Devil's Highway in Arizona, formerly AZ-666 now AZ-191.

    Things in/on/by the road:
    - Cows
    - Whitetail deer
    - Horse 💩
    - Horses
    - Chipmunks
    - Squirrels
    - Coyotes
    - Reservation dog
    - Lizard, including a juvenile Gila Monster that I really hope I didn't hit
    - Birds, from sparrows to vultures and one quail that just stood there as I rode by
    - Rocks, from gravel to volleyball-sized boulders
    - And of course lots of tire treads from semi blowouts

    Got soaked by two storms. Feet boiled to death in boots. Storms were crazy. Each mountain had its own cloud that looked like a faucet was left running. I could see several at once.

    I'm so tired that I had to stop for the second storm that got me because the wind was blowing me across lanes. I put the bike on the kickstand to stay upright, then leaned forward on my tank bag and considered taking a nap. 🤣
    Read more