Satellite
Show on map
  • Pipestone, Minnesota

    July 13, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 81 °F

    Today was a nice day, but I had to remind myself I wasn't on the Hoka Hey, didn't need to go 900 miles, and could stop as many times as I wanted 🤣.

    I left the hotel around 08:30. My first stop was Wall Drug, a must-stop for anyone traveling I-90 through South Dakota. I needed a travel toothbrush--I lost mine somewhere--and a camping chair. I also grabbed a photo at Badlands HD.

    My second stop was at the Minuteman Missile National Historic Site. I thought I would spend some time in the Visitor Center looking around, reading about the missile ops. Instead, I felt my stomach turn remembering the intense stress I was under when I was part of the Air Force Nuclear Command and Control structure. I grabbed my passport stamp and hightailed it out of there.

    I-90 is just another boring interstate, but with a speed limit of 80 mph, at least you get somewhere fast. I kept it around 75 most of the day, but even so, I found myself drooping around 14:00, which was actually 15:00 since I had changed into Central Time without realizing it. I stopped at a rest area and took a nap on a picnic table. The parents of the little bird weren't pleased by my presence, but I was only there an hour, so I'm sure the little chick is just fine.

    The interstate took me to Mitchell, South Dakota, for my 7th stop on the 10 Rides for 2022. Then I was off to the next HD in Sioux Falls. I considered camping in their parking lot, but found a campground 50 miles away next door to the Pipestone National Monument that I'm heading to tomorrow. So, I'm now in downtown Pipestone, Minnesota, having a glass of wine with a light dinner within walking distance of camp.

    It really has been a good day.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 124 mileage: 222.8 (total 685.4 + 24568.7)
    HD Dealerships: 2 (total 215)
    National Parks: 1 (total 43 in 23 states)
    10 Rides for 2022: 1 (total 7 of 10)
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 23 of 50)
    Read more