Satellite
Show on map
  • This Is The End...Really

    October 14, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 84 °F

    The time has come. I got back from Odessa today and have decided to officially end my 2022 Motorcycle Adventure. What a ride!!!

    From my first post on 13 February, here is what I challenged myself to accomplish in 2022 and how I did:
    ✅ Enjoy the ride!
    ✅ No whining.
    ✅ No crashing.
    ✅ Visit as many friends as I can and make new friends along the way.
    ✅ Complete Harley's Georgia and South Carolina 50 Rides 1 Nation Challenge (#47 and #48 of the 50).
    ✅ Complete Harley's 10 Rides for 2022.
    ✅ Visit all 50 locations in the 2022 Motorcycle Grand Tour of Texas.
    ☹️ Visit at least 502 Harley dealerships. My official count for HOG's Dealership Challenge is 420. Another 14 visited but photos weren't accepted.
    ✅ Complete Iron Butt Association's National Parks Tour Master Traveler Award Silver.
    ☹️ Attend all of Harley's Touring Rallies. I could not make the Grand Museum rally because of the Hoka Hey.
    ✅ Complete the Hoka Hey Motorcycle Challenge in the allotted time.
    ✅ Get amazing tan lines from my gloves.
    ----------

    Here are a few nuggets from this year's riding:

    - Meeting up with friends and making new friends at touring rallies is terrific ❤️. Catching up with old friends, if only for a cup of coffee ☕ or a hug 🫂, is totally worth the stop.

    - Watching sunrise 🌄 and sunset 🌇 while riding the bike is one of my favorite things to do.

    - You don't need as much stuff as you think you do. But always, always have duct tape, painters tape, and electrical tape.

    - Now everyone in every state hangs out in the left lane 🖕.

    - I'm no longer anxious about sleeping on the ground next to my bike, with or without a tent...or sleeping bag...or pillow...🤣.

    - I won't live long enough see all the natural beauty in this world or even in just one state...okay, maybe in Rhode Island...but I'm going to see as much of it as I can for as long as I can. And you're all welcome to join me!

    VROOM VROOM UNTIL NEXT TIME!!!

    ----------

    Here's some statistics:

    - TOTAL TRIP MILEAGE: 61556.8
    -- Today's mileage: 396.5 (total 26436.1 + 10552.0 Hoka Hey + 24568.7 pre-Hoka Hey)
    -- Annual Mileage [so far]: 64,407 (142,620 14 Oct - 78,213 1 Jan)

    - 217 days on the road and all but a handful on the bike. Yes, that's an average of over 28 miles EVERY DAY.

    - $19,478.74 spent at 23 HDs on bike maintenance, not including cost of four tows (5 rear flats and 1 dead battery; I rode on 2 of the flats)

    ----------

    So long, and thanks for all the fish! ✌️
    Read more