Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Friday Harbor and Places North!

    May 31, 2023 ⋅ 🌙 59 °F

    We left Anacortes at around 06:00, which put us in Friday Harbor around 08:00. This is a cute town, a village really, but everything is uphill from the pier, so I stayed on the ship except to find another geocache about 100 feet from where we docked 🤣.

    When I left my room, I was pleasantly surprised to hear I had won Employee of the Cruise for our last 7-day trip. It comes with a stateroom for either the rest of this trip or for the next one. I like my small, solo accommodations--which are larger than my RV--so I gave the stateroom to a server.

    While in Friday Harbor we learned that our guest--for whom we made the emergency stop two days ago--passed away after suffering a heart attack. I feel terrible for his partner and family, but I am very thankful he was not on the ship when it happened.

    After filling our water tanks, we left Friday Harbor at 18:00 and sailed away into a glorious sunset. Luckily, the Captain didn't fall off the ship 😱.

    Right now we're passing through Canadian waters in the Strait of Georgia almost due west of Vancouver 🛳️.

    Next stop: Ketchikan, Alaska!
    Read more