Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 5: Gallup to Kingman (finally)

    March 1 in the United States ⋅ 🌬 63 °F

    Sunrise on the bike is one of my favorite things about riding, and today was a whopper! In front of me, mountains far in the distance were breathing their rings of clouds into the sky. Behind me, the radiant orange orb was slowly scaling the hills in my mirror. When the brilliant glow broke the horizon, it was as if the entire sky burst into flame, the clouds before me reflecting the fire behind. Simply breathtaking.

    I left Gallup at 0430 and beelined to Kingman, arriving around six hours later. Because of the time zone change, I was able to get breakfast at my hotel and unload the bike before making my 1230 service appointment at Mother Road HD. They're also going to lubricate my steering head bearings and change the spark plugs, so I'm leaving the bike with them tonight. She deserves an indoor rest after these several days of cold weather. As do I! I've extended my stay a night and will be leaving Sunday instead of tomorrow. No 0400 alarm in the morning! Yay!

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    HD Dealership Challenge: 1 (total 23)
    RTE-X-USA: 0 points (total 16)
    MCGTTX 2024 Stops: 0 (total 0 of 50)
    10 Rides for 2024: 0 (total 0 of 10)
    IBA Lap Around the 48 Stops: 0 (total 0 of 9)
    Read more