Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Day 8: Lund to Ely to Victorville

    March 4 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 55 °F

    I made it to Ely to get the photo I needed! Although the mud parking lot was frozen solid and the bike almost didn't start, the road was dry most of the 35 miles north. The mountain pass I had to traverse was wet but not icy (lots of chemical). I only had a problem stopping for gas because the pump areas weren't clear. Almost spun out the bike trying to get out of there, but I kept the shiny side up. Well, what used to be the shiny side 😉.

    After gas, I backtracked all the way to Las Vegas, then continued on I-15 south until arriving in Victorville. Even on I-15, I had to go through some elevation, so I decided to make the most of a crystal clear day to get as far south as possible. I hope my snow days are over, at least until after I get to Petaluma.

    Great day of riding even with the Interstate and $5.85 a gallon 😳. Welcome to California 🤣!

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    P.S.: If you're headed south on US93 between I-15 and the junction at NV318, be prepared to hold your breath when you see 16-foot tall tractor-trailers coming at you. They're garbage trucks...horrible, stinky, nasty, slimy, disgusting garbage trucks 🤢🤢🤢🤢 .

    HD Dealership Challenge: 1 (total 28)
    RTE-X-USA: 0 points (total 18)
    MCGTTX 2024 Stops: 0 (total 0 of 50)
    10 Rides for 2024: 1 (total 1 of 10) 😁😁😁
    IBA Lap Around the 48 Stops: 0 (total 0 of 9)
    Read more